2010 Grant Recipients

The PVA Research Foundation has announced their 2010 grant awardees.  The Foundation is devoted to putting grant money towards work that will advance the science needed to understand and treat spinal cord injury and diseases.  Out of the 64 applications the PVA Research Foundation’s Board of Directors received, 10 new grants were awarded, totaling $1,170,705 in funding.

Grants were awarded in three different research categories: basic science, fellowships, and design and development.  The basic science category is built on important laboratory research. Fellowships for postdoctoral scientists, clinicians and engineers encourage training and specialization in the field of spinal cord research.   The design and development pilot program makes efforts to improve lives by broadening accessibility for people with spinal cord injury as well as the wheelchair community.

In 2002 a highly distinguished award was named for Fritz Krauth, a 40-year Paralyzed Veterans of America member, who made a significant donation to the PVA Research Foundation.  This grant cycle, Rachel Cowan, PhD at the Miller School of Medicine of the University of Miami, was awarded this distinguished fellowship award, the 2010 Fritz Krauth Memorial Fellow, for her work towards Barriers & Participation after SCI: Relationship with Fitness & Mobility. 

Questions?  Contact Rachel Hoeft, Associate Director, Education at rachelh@pva.org or (202) 416-7651

Michael Lane PhD_small


BASIC SCIENCE: Optimizing Respiratory Plasticity Following Cervical Spinal Cord Injury
Michael A. Lane, PhD

Angelo Lepore PhD_small


BASIC SCIENCE:  Role of Astrocyte Glutamate Transporter GLT1 in Secondary Loss after SCI
Angelo C. Lepore, PhD

Carlos Mantilla  MD PhD_small 

BASIC SCIENCE: Motoneuron Targeting for Respiratory Recovery after Spinal Cord Injury
Carlos B. Mantilla, MD, PhD

 Jed Shumsky PhD

BASIC SCIENCE: Pharmacologic Enhancement of Training Improves Recovery from Cervical SCI
Jed S. Shumsky, PhD


BASIC SCIENCE: Microglia Induce Myelinated Fiber Pathology Following Spinal Cord Injury
David P. Stirling, PhD

 Duo Jin PhD_small

FELLOWSHIP: To Test mTOR Pathway in Axonal Regeneration and Locomotion Recovery
Duo Jin, PhD

 Rachel Cowen PhD_small

FELLOWSHIP: Barriers & Participation after SCI: Relationship with Fitness & Mobility
Rachel Cowan, PhD
**Fritz Krauth Memorial Fellow**

 Ahdeah Pajoohesh-Ganji PhD_small

FELLOWSHIP: Amyloid Precursor Protein Secreatases as Therapeutic Targets for SCI
Ahdeah Pajoohesh-Ganji, PhD

  Kun-Ze Lee PhD_small

FELLOWSHIP: Training Novel Host-Graft Circuits to Enhance Spinal Cord Repair
Kun-Ze Lee, PhD

 Dianne Goodwin ME_small

DESIGN AND DEVELOPMENT: Development of Portable Transfer Technology for Boarding Boats
Dianne Goodwin, ME


Upcoming Events

    View all upcoming events
    2010 Grant Recipients