Outstanding Service Honored at Paralyzed Veterans' National Service Officer Meeting

Marco Rossi receives Victor S McCoy Award
Marco Rossi accepts the Victor S. McCoy Award for Excellence from

Sherman Gillums, Jr., Veterans Benefits Dept Assoc. Executive Director

Shirley Bryant receives Laurie Cotter Award
Shirley Bryant receives the Laurie Cotter Award from Gillums
Two outstanding members of Paralyzed Veterans of America's Veterans Benefits Department were recognized as part of the annual Continuing Education Program for national service officers.

Marco Rossi, senior national service officer in the Denver Service office of Paralyzed Veterans, received the Victor S. McCoy Award for Excellence for his work in revamping the Denver service office. The award is named after Victory S. McCoy, the first associate executive director of the Veterans Benefits Department at Paralyzed Veterans.

“Even with all the obstacles confronting him, he has managed to turn the Denver Service Office into a well-run, organized and efficient office,” said Joni K. St. Pierre, NSO in the Denver service office, who nominated Rossi for the award.

Shirley Bryant, secretary in the Atlanta service office of Paralyzed Veterans of America, received the Laurie Cotter Award for Administrative Excellence for her tireless work to the Atlanta service office and her volunteer service at the VA medical center in Decatur, Ga. “Mrs. Bryant has given her all to Paralyzed Veterans and has asked for nothing in return,” said Mitchell Hinkle, SBA office supervisor of the Atlanta service office, who nominated Bryant for the award. 

Alan Klingensmith, associate director of field services training at Paralyzed Veterans, said this year was the first year of the Laurie Cotter Award for Administrative Excellence.  The name of the award was changed following the death of Laurie Cotter, who served 30 years as the eastern regional administrative assistant for Paralyzed Veterans in St. Petersburg, Fla.

Award recipients were nominated by their colleagues and were selected by a panel of judges. Each member of the panel received an anonymous write-up on the nominees and graded each nominee based on their accomplishments.

Other award recipients were:

National Service Officer of the Year Award
Eastern Region NSO: Bill Pack
Eastern Region Secretary: Rose Quinn
Western Region NSO: Marco Rossi
Western Region Secretary: Ellen DeMarco
Central Region NSO: Nichelle Edwards
Central Region Secretary: Rhonda Broughton

Vocational Rehabilitation Counselor of the Year: Christina Mousel

Medical Monitor Award
Eastern Region: Raul Acosta
Western Region:  Armando De Le Rosa
Central Region: Jean Daugherty

Million Dollar Club Award: John Allen

Learn more about our National Service Officers and their service to veterans

Brittany Ballenstedt is a freelance journalist whose work has appeared in several publications, including Government Executive, National Journal, Technology Daily and NextGov.com. 


Upcoming Events

    View all upcoming events
    Outstanding Service Honored at Paralyzed Veterans' National Service Officer Meeting